SB 122 Update - Please Contact Senators Immediately

This morning Senate Bill 11-122 (“SB 122”) was heard before the Senate Judiciary Committee (“Committee”). As you know, if signed into law, SB 122 would destroy the ability of homeowner associations (“HOAs”) to assign junior lien rights to investors which would have a detrimental impact on the finances of many HOAs in Colorado. SB 122 – A Gamble HOAs Can’t Afford Colorado to Take more fully explains the issue.

Public testimony has been closed on SB 122 in the Committee. Senator Lundberg, the sponsor of the bill, introduced an amendment to SB 122 that does not address the underlying concerns HOAs have with the bill. The Committee is convening Wednesday afternoon to vote on SB 122 and the amendment.

 

Please call and email members of the Committee before noon on Wednesday to ask them to vote NO on the amendment and NO on SB 122. 

 

Names and Contact Information for the Senate Judiciary Committee:

 

CHAIR:  Senator Morgan Carroll:  303-866-4879; morgan@senmorgancarroll.com

VICE-CHAIR:  Senator Lucia Guzman:  303-866-4862; lucia.guzman.senate@state.co.us

Senator Angela Giron:  303-866-4878; angela.giron.senate@state.co.us

Senator Steve King:  303-866-3077; steve.king.senate@state.co.us

Senator Kevin Lundberg:  303-866-4853; kevin@kevinlundberg.com

Senator Linda Newell:  303-866-4846; Linda.newell.senate@gmail.com

Senator Jeanne Nicholson:  303-866-4873; jeanne.nicholson.senate@state.co.us

Senator Ellen Roberts:  303-866-4884; ellen.roberts.senate@state.co.us

Senator Mark Scheffel:  303-866-4869; mark.scheffel.senate@state.co.us

 

Thank you for participating in the Calls to Action on SB 122.  We will provide you with an update on the status of the bill following the Committee vote tomorrow.